Michigan Divorce Residency Requirements
In order to file your Complaint for Divorce in Michigan, you must make sure the Judicial Circuit Court has jurisdiction over your case. The most common way spouses are eligible to use a specific court system is by meeting the residency requirements. Meeting the Michigan residency requirements is typically only a concern for a spouse who has recently moved or is planning to move in the near future. The filing requirements are as follows:
A judgment of divorce shall not be granted by a court in this state in an action for divorce unless the complainant or defendant has resided in this state for 180 days immediately preceding the filing of the complaint, the complainant or defendant has resided in the county in which the complaint is filed for 10 days immediately preceding the filing of the complaint.
The divorce is typically filed with in county in which the filing spouse lives. (Michigan Compiled Laws - Section: 552.9)
Since divorce is governed by state law, it is required that you meet specific residency requirements in order to file for a divorce in the state of Michigan. It is most common that people file for a divorce in the county in which they live. You can also read more about the Michigan residency requirements in the Michigan state statutes located at: http://www.michiganlegislature.org/. If you are unsure of whether or not you meet the Michigan residency requirements you can try contacting the Clerk’s office of the domestic relations or family law division of your county courthouse.
Locate a Professional:
Online Michigan Divorce Service:
Online Custody Tool:
Frequently Asked Questions: