Nevada Divorce Residency Requirements
In order to file your Complaint for Divorce in Nevada, you must make sure the District Court has jurisdiction over your case. The most common way spouses are eligible to use a specific court system is by meeting the residency requirements. Meeting the Nevada residency requirements is typically only a concern for a spouse who has recently moved or is planning to move in the near future. The filing requirements are as follows:
Divorce from the bonds of matrimony may be obtained by verified complaint to the district court of any county: (a) In which the cause therefor accrued; (b) In which the defendant resides or may be found; (c) In which the plaintiff resides; (d) In which the parties last cohabited; or (e) If plaintiff resided 6 weeks in the State before suit was brought.
Unless the cause of action accrued within the county while the plaintiff and defendant were actually domiciled therein, no court has jurisdiction to grant a divorce unless either the plaintiff or defendant has been resident of the State for a period of not less than 6 weeks preceding the commencement of the action.
The divorce is typically filed with in county in which the filing spouse resides. (Nevada Statutes - Chapter 125 - Sections: 020)
Since divorce is governed by state law, it is required that you meet specific residency requirements in order to file for a divorce in the state of Nevada. It is most common that people file for a divorce in the county in which they live. You can also read more about the Nevada residency requirements in the Nevada state statutes located at: http://www.leg.state.nv.us/. If you are unsure of whether or not you meet the Nevada residency requirements you can try contacting the Clerk’s office of the domestic relations or family law division of your county courthouse.
Locate a Professional:
Online Nevada Divorce Service:
Online Custody Tool:
Frequently Asked Questions: