New Hampshire Divorce Residency Requirements
In order to file your Petition for Divorce in New Hampshire, you must make sure the Superior Court has jurisdiction over your case. The most common way spouses are eligible to use a specific court system is by meeting the residency requirements. Meeting the New Hampshire residency requirements is typically only a concern for a spouse who has recently moved or is planning to move in the near future. The filing requirements are as follows:
In order to file for a divorce, the parties must: I. both be residents of the state nd the filing spouse must be a resident for a least 1 year prior to filing or; the grounds must have occurred in the state and one of the spouses must be a resident for at least 1 year prior to filing. The divorce shall be filed in the county in which either spouse resides. (New Hampshire Statutes - Chapters: 458:5, 458:6, 458:9)
Since divorce is governed by state law, it is required that you meet specific residency requirements in order to file for a divorce in the state of New Hampshire. It is most common that people file for a divorce in the county in which they live. You can also read more about the New Hampshire residency requirements in the New Hampshire state statutes located at: http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/. If you are unsure of whether or not you meet the New Hampshire residency requirements you can try contacting the Clerk’s office of the domestic relations or family law division of your county courthouse.
Locate a Professional:
Online New Hampshire Divorce Service:
Online Custody Tool:
Frequently Asked Questions: