Arkansas Grounds for Divorce
The Complaint for Divorce is the initial document filed with the Arkansas court. It is in this document that the filing spouse will request the court to terminate the marriage under certain specified grounds.
The circuit court shall have power to dissolve a marriage for the following causes:
No-Fault Based Grounds: (1) When husband and wife have lived separate and apart from each other for 18 months (2) Mutual consent of both spouses or due to the fault of either spouse or both spouses;
Fault Based Grounds: (1) Impotence; (2) Convicted of a felony or other infamous crime; (3) Habitual drunkenness for one 1 year; (4) Be guilty of such cruel and barbarous treatment as to endanger the life of the other; or (5) Offer such indignities to the person of the other as shall render his or her condition intolerable; (6) Adultery. (Arkansas Code - Title 9 - Chapters: 12-301)
Every divorce case that is filed in the state of Arkansas must declare the grounds in which the divorce is to be granted. The grounds for divorce must be substantiated with evidence or testimony otherwise the court may dismiss the case. When you are petitioning the court for a divorce, or agreeing to a divorce, make sure that you completely understand the grounds and any potential legal repercussions. If you would like to learn more about the Arkansas grounds, visit the Arkansas state statutes located at: https://codes.findlaw.com/ar/title-9-family-law/.
Locate a Professional:
Online Arkansas Divorce Service:
Online Custody Tool:
Frequently Asked Questions: